5.8 GHz


The 5.8 GHz band is the best choice in terms of price and accuracy for real-time location system

The use of higher frequencies for location applications such as tracking of people and equipment has many advantages over other frequencies. Systems built on higher frequencies provide a reduction in production costs and high-speed transport data between the badges, tags and receivers. In addition, they offer the best compromise to transmit a wireless signal, by leaky wave, by reflections in crowded spaces such as a refinery. The use of higher radio frequencies offers the ability to manufacture small devices with unparalleled efficiency for real-time location systems (RTLS) and active RFID tags. The physics of wireless technology shows four main factors affecting the quality of communication and system performance:

  1. 1. Traffic in the band
  2. 2. Problems of propagation and behavior when faced with obstacles and depending on the distance
  3. 3. Spectral efficiency
  4. 4. Device effectiveness

1. Traffic in the band

High Traffic in 433 MHz, 900 MHz and 2.4 GHz bands

433 MHz, 900 MHz and 2.4 GHz bands are widely used in consumer devices such as monitors, ovens, microwaves, Bluetooth, local communication devices. 433 MHz band has been used for decades for short-range communications. However, these RFID networks operating in these bands suffer from disturbances in the low frequency signals from other wireless devices.

The higher traffic in the band, the higher the receptor complexity must be to reject noise and interference and maintain signal quality. The result is an increase in complexity and price of the unit. It is therefore better to use an uncluttered and larger band as the 5.8 GHz band, to better manage large capacity real-time location systems, such as Purelink RTLS.

2. Problems of propagation and behavior when faced with obstacles and depending on the distance

Better signal propagation characteristics at 5.8GHz

Most short-range communications occur around human structures, such as vehicles and buildings. For middle ranges in distances of 0-1 km and for the same level of transmitting power, the 5.8 GHz band has almost the same communication range as the 433 MHz band.

The 5.8 GHz band offers a Fresnel diffraction zone the smallest compared to the bands 433 MHz, 900 MHz and 2.4 GHz. Because of its shorter wavelength, the signal at 5.8 GHz can pass through the narrowest of spaces. At the same time, it maintains its ability to penetrate through almost similar materials such as waves in the 433 MHz band. Therefore, when the waves at 433 MHz are blocked or diffracted by obstacles, due to the signal wavelength of more than 70 cm, the signal at 5.8 GHz can easily pass through these obstacles because of its very short wavelength of only 5.17cm.

The wavelength of the signal determines the device size and performance. Therefore, in general, products exploiting the high frequencies are more compact and have better efficiency.

Frequency Wavelength
5.8 GHz 5.17 cm
2.4 GHz 12.5 cm
900 MHz 32.7 cm
433 MHz 69.3 cm

Frequency Distance
5.8 GHz with direct spread spectrum 100 - 670 m (300 - 2000 pi)
2.4 GHz with direct spread spectrum 100 - 670 m (300 - 2000 pi)
900 MHz with direct spread spectrum 100 - 500 m (300 - 1500 pi)
433 MHz 25 - 133 m (75 - 400 pi)

At 5.8GHz, the wavelength being shorter, the antennas are smaller, the penetration through holes in obstacles and the transmission by leaky waves are better. In addition, the components used in 5.8 GHz badges or tags are smaller and more energy efficient.

The propagation characteristics of signals at 433 MHz, 900 MHz, 2.4 GHz and 5.8 GHz in free space are similar in situation of rain. This is important to consider in tropical climates and continental for outdoor applications.

The figure below shows how the propagation at long range, for almost all frequencies below 10 GHz, is affected the same way for different types of rain conditions. Under heavy rain, all frequencies below 10 GHz suffer nearly 0.1 dB of attenuation per kilometer of propagation. real-time location systems in are generally built with tag / receiver lines of communication of less than 500 m. Therefore, one should consider the frequency effectiveness, noise in the communication band and interference to select the best frequency for your location-based applications or active RFID tags.

figure 1
RF signal propagation and atmospheric attenuation for different frequency bands

The 5.8 GHz band offers a range of communication similar (0-1 km) than other low frequency bands. However, at 5.8 GHz, the error rate per bit transmitted (BER) is much lower due to a less crowded bandwidth. The 5.8 GHz ISM band offers 75 MHz bandwidth communication. This is almost twice the bandwidth of 2.4 GHz band. This results in more energy-efficient products with higher data rates.

3. Frequency efficiency

High data rate modulation at 5.8 GHz

The data transfer rate is greater at 5.8 GHz because the frequency is higher. This is very important when it comes to track, locate and communicate with hundreds of badges and tags in motion, such as people, equipment, vehicles or containers. Purelink location system allows to track a vehicle traveling at a speed exceeding 200 km / h without problems of communication between the tag associated with the vehicle and the receptors located more than 200 meters from the road. The Doppler Effect may be important in systems with low frequency because of the slower modulation techniques in the bands 433 MHz, 900 MHz. However 5.8 GHz tags can be read at speeds of 250 km / h without any misreading, even if the tag is hidden in the trunk!

The 5.8 GHz band provides data rates from over 2 Mb / s to 100 Mb / s. The advanced modulation techniques can provide important data rates for real-time location systems such as the one manufactured by Purelink. When it comes to implementing security applications, applications for protection of people or commercial applications requiring high reliability, high accuracy and reasonable cost, Purelink location systems are the most effective.

A higher modulation at 5.8 GHz can transmit large amounts of data. In many industrial applications where a real-time location system is required to process each second the position and status of hundreds of workers with an average error of ± 2 meters, only Purelink location system can meet the task.

Location systems at low frequency of 433 MHz, 900 MHz and 2.4 GHz cannot handle the large data rate modulation and they cannot provide consistency, robustness, accuracy and throughput.

4. Device efficiency

Better electronics design at 5.8 GHz

At 5.8 GHz, the ability to use transmission lines for antenna design leads to cheaper solutions with smaller circuit boards. The result is a device very compact, lower cost and greater energy efficiency.

Using the 5.8 GHz band provides the opportunity to make tags in a single chipset. The results are devices smaller and lighter, and a considerable increase the device energy efficiency.

At 5.8 GHz, the antennas are smaller and can be produced in a variety of forms.

The 5.8 Ghz band is compatible with CMOS technology

CMOS technology has many advantages:

  • Mature technology
  • Low bias voltage (<3V, even below 1V for SOI MOS)
  • Low power consumption (portable applications)
  • Possibility to build a single chip with both analog and digital circuits
  • High level integration possible
  • Compatible with micromachining techniques (MEMS)

The result is a great technological superiority of devices at 5.8GHz such as Purelink technology.

Comparison of usual bands
Frequency Advantages Drawbacks High Traffic
418 MHz
433 MHz
868 MHz
915 MHz
  • Good communication range
  • Good water/body penetration
  • Band authorized in many countries
  • Big devices and antennas
  • High energy consumption
  • Low integration of componenets
  • Limited transmission rate
  • Compact devices and antennas
  • Good communication range
  • High transmission rate
  • Sensitive to noise
  • Require sensitive receivers
  • High energy consumption
  • Require frequent battery changes
  • Expensive
  • Poor water/body penetration
  • Very compact devices and antennas
  • High energy and spectral efficiency
  • Very good communication range
  • Very high transmission rate
  • Can be build in one chip
  • Require sensitive receivers
  • Poor water/body penetration

Performance table
DILS WiFi Short range active RFID
Characteristics 5.8 GHz 2.4 GHz 1.2 GHz 900 MHz UHF
Available channels 8-16-32 4 4 3 Multiple
Interference risk Very low High Medium Medium Medium
Band type FM FM FM AM AM
Resolution Excellent Excellent Excellent Good Medium
Range Long Medium Medium Short Short
Outdoor performance Excellent Excellent Excellent Good Medium
Position accuracy (X,Y) Excellent Low Low Low by Zone
Security Excellent Good Good Medium Low
Licence required No No Yes Yes No
Penetration capability :
Water/Body Low Low Good Good Good
Wood Medium Medium Good Very Good Excellent
Concrete Medium Medium Good Very Good Excellent
Tinted window Low Low Low Low Low
Metal No No No No No

Technologie RFID

5.8 GHZ, LE MEILLEUR CHOIX POUR LE RTLS

La bande 5.8 GHz est le meilleur choix en terme de prix et de précision pour les Systèmes de localisation en temps réel

L'utilisation de fréquences plus élevées pour les applications de localisation telles que la localisation des personnes et des équipements présente de multiples avantages par rapport aux autres fréquences. Les systèmes construits sur des fréquences plus élevées offrent une réduction de coûts de production et un transport de données à haute vitesse entre les badges, les tags et des récepteurs. En outre, ils offrent le meilleur compromis pour transmettre un signal sans fil, par ondes de fuite, par réflexions dans des espaces encombrés comme les raffineries. L’utilisation des fréquences radio plus élevées offre la possibilité de fabriquer des petits dispositifs avec une efficacité inégalée pour les systèmes de localisation en temps réel (RTLS) et les tags RFID actifs. La physique des technologies sans fil montre quatre principaux facteurs affectant la qualité de la communication et les performances du système:

  1. Le trafic dans la bande
  2. Les problèmes de propagation et de comportement face aux obstacles et selon la distance
  3. L’efficacité spectrale
  4. L'efficacité du dispositif

1. Le Trafic dans la bande

Niveaux élevés de trafic dans les bandes 433 MHz, 900 MHz et 2,4 GHz

Les bandes 433 MHz, 900 MHz et 2.4 GHz sont largement utilisés pour les appareils grand public, tels que les moniteurs pour bébé, les fours à micro-ondes, Bluetooth, les dispositifs de communication locaux. La bande 433 MHz a été utilisée pendant des décennies pour les communications à courte portée. Les systèmes RFID fonctionnant dans ces bandes souffrent, de perturbations dans les basses fréquences par les signaux d’autres dispositifs sans fil.

Plus le trafic dans la bande est élevée, plus complexe doit être le récepteur pour rejeter le bruit et les interférences et ainsi maintenir la qualité du signal. Le résultat est une augmentation de la complexité et du prix de l'appareil. Il est donc plus intéressant d'utiliser une bande non encombrée et plus large, comme la bande 5.8 GHz, afin de mieux gérer les systèmes de Localisation en temps réel de grande capacité, tels que le système de RTLS de Purelink.

2. Les problèmes de propagation, de comportement face aux obstacles et selon la distance

Meilleures caractéristiques de propagation des signaux à 5.8 GHz

La plupart des communications à courte portée se produisent autour de constructions humaines, comme les véhicules et les bâtiments. Pour des portées moyennes dans les distances de 0 à 1 km et pour le même niveau de puissance transmise, la bande 5.8 GHz offre presque la même portée de communication que la bande de 433 MHz.

La bande de 5.8 GHz offre une zone de Diffraction de Fresnel plus petite comparée aux bandes 433 MHz, 900 MHz et 2.4 GHz. En raison de sa plus courte longueur d'onde, le signal à 5.8 GHz peut traverser des espaces plus étroits. Dans le même temps, il maintient ses capacités de pénétration presque similaire à travers certains matériaux comme les ondes de la bande 433 MHz. Par conséquent, lorsque les ondes à 433 MHz sont bloquées ou diffractées par des obstacles en raison d'une longueur d'onde du signal de plus de 70 cm, le signal à 5.8 GHz peut facilement passer à travers ces mêmes obstacles en raison de sa longueur d'onde très courte de seulement 5.17cm.

La longueur d'onde du signal détermine la taille du dispositif et sa performance. C'est pourquoi, en général, les produits exploitant les hautes fréquences sont plus compacts et présente une meilleure efficacité.

Fréquence Longueur d'onde
5.8 GHz 5.17 cm
2.4 GHz 12.5 cm
900 MHz 32.7 cm
433 MHz 69.3 cm

Fréquence Distance
5.8 GHz avec étalement du spectre de fréquence (direct spread spectrum) 100 - 670 m (300 - 2000 pi)
2.4 GHz avec étalement du spectre de fréquence (direct spread spectrum) 100 - 670 m (300 - 2000 pi)
900 MHz avec étalement du spectre de fréquence (direct spread spectrum) 100 - 500 m (300 - 1500 pi)
433 MHz 25 - 133 m (75 - 400 pi)

À 5.8 GHz, la longueur d’onde étant plus courte, les antennes sont plus petites, la pénétration à travers les trous des obstacles ainsi que la transmission par signaux de fuite sont meilleurs. Par ailleurs, les composants utilisés dans un badge ou un tag de 5.8 GHz sont plus petits et plus économes en énergie.

Les caractéristiques de propagation du signal à 433 MHz, 900 MHz, 2.4 GHz et 5.8 GHz en espace libre sont similaires en situation de pluie. Cette question est importante à considérer dans les climats tropicaux et continentaux, pour les applications extérieures.

La figure ci-dessous montre comment la propagation, pour la plupart des fréquences inférieures à 10 GHz, est affectée pour les différents types de conditions de pluie. Sous une forte pluie, toutes les fréquences inférieures à 10 GHz souffrent de près de 0.1 dB d'atténuation par kilomètre de propagation. Les systèmes de localisation en temps réel sont généralement construits avec des gammes de communication tag / récepteur de moins de 500 m. Par conséquent, on doit considérer l'efficacité de fréquence, le bruit dans la bande de communication et d'interférences afin de sélectionner la meilleure fréquence pour vos applications de géolocalisation ou par tags RFID actifs.

figure 1
Propagation de signaux RF et l'atténuation atmosphérique pour les différentes bandes de fréquences

La bande des 5.8 GHz offre une portée de communication similaire (0 à 1 km) que les autres bandes de basse fréquence. Cependant, à 5.8 GHz, le taux d'erreur par bit transmis (BER) est beaucoup plus faible en raison d'une bande passante moins encombrée. La bande ISM à 5.8 GHz offre 75 MHz de largeur de bande de communication. C'est presque deux fois plus de bande passante que la bande de 2.4 GHz. Cela se traduit par des produits plus économes en énergie avec des débits de données plus élevés.

3. L'efficacité spectrale

Haut taux de modulation de données à 5.8 GHz

Le taux de transfert de données est supérieur à 5.8 GHz, car la fréquence est plus élevée. Ceci est très important quand il s'agit de localiser, de suivre ou de communiquer avec des centaines de badges et de tags en mouvement, comme les personnes, les équipements, des véhicules ou des conteneurs. L'utilisation d'un système de localisation de Purelink permet de suivre un véhicule circulant à une vitesse supérieure à 200 km / h sans problème de communication entre le tag associé au véhicule et les récepteurs situés à plus de 200 mètres de la route. L'effet Doppler peut être important dans les systèmes à basse fréquence et en raison des techniques de modulation plus lentes dans les bandes 433 MHz, 900 MHz. Les tags à 5.8 GHz peuvent être lus à des vitesses de 250 km / h sans aucune mauvaise lecture, et cela même si le tag est caché dans le coffre du véhicule !

La bande 5.8 GHz offre des débits de données de plus de 2 Mo/s à 100 Mo/s. Les techniques de modulation avancées permettent d’assurer des débits de données importants pour les véritables systèmes de localisation en temps réel comme celui de Purelink. Lorsqu’il s’agit d’implanter des applications de sécurité, des applications de protection des personnes ou des applications commerciales exigeant un haut niveau de fiabilité, une haute précision et des coûts raisonnables, les systèmes de localisation Purelink sont les plus efficaces qui soient.

Une modulation plus élevée à 5.8 GHz permet de transmettre de grande quantité de données. Dans de nombreuses applications industrielles, lorsqu’un système de localisation en temps réel est requis pour traiter la position et les statuts des centaines de travailleurs avec une précision moyenne de ± 2 mètres, à chaque seconde, seul le système de localisation Purelink permet de répondre à la tâche.

Les systèmes de localisation à basse fréquence de 433 MHz, 900 MHz et 2.4 GHz ne peuvent pas traiter le gros débit de données de modulation et ils ne peuvent offrir, cohérence, robustesse, précision et capacité de traitement à la fois.

4. L'efficacité du dispositif

Meilleure Conception de l’électronique à 5.8 GHz

À 5.8 GHz, la capacité d'utiliser les lignes de transmission pour la conception d'antennes conduit à des solutions moins coûteuses avec de plus petits circuits imprimés. Le résultat est un dispositif très compacte, de moindre coût et avec une meilleure efficacité énergétique.

L’utilisation de la bande de 5.8 GHz donne la possibilité de faire des tags dans un seul chipset. Il en résulte des dispositifs plus petits et plus légers et une augmentation considérable de l'efficacité énergétique du dispositif.

À 5.8 GHz, les antennes sont plus petites et peut être produites dans une grande variété de formes.

La bande 5.8 GHz est compatible avec la technologie CMOS

La technologie CMOS présente de multiples avantages:

  • Technologie d’une grande maturité
  • Faible tension de polarisation (<3V, même en dessous de 1V pour SOI, MOS)
  • Faible consommation électrique (applications portables)
  • Possibilité de construire une seule puce ayant des circuits à la fois analogiques et numériques
  • Hauts niveaux d'intégration possibles
  • Compatible avec les techniques de micro-usinage (MEMS)

Il en résulte une grande supériorité technologique des dispositifs à 5.8 GHz comme la technologie Purelink.


Tableau comparatif des bandes usuelles
Fréquence Avantages Inconvénients Trafic élevé
303.8MHz
418 MHz
433 MHz
868 MHz
915 MHz
  • Bonne portée de communication
  • Bonne pénétration eau/corps humain
  • Bande autorisée dans beaucoup de pays
  • Dispositifs et antennes de grande taille
  • Dispositifs très énergivores
  • Faible intégration des composantes
  • Taux de transmission limité
Oui
2.45GHz
  • Dispositifs et antennes compacts
  • Bonne portée de communication
  • Taux de transmission élevé
  • Plus susceptible au bruit
  • Exige des récepteurs sensibles
  • Dispositifs énergivores
  • Exige des changements des batteries fréquents
  • Dispendieux
  • Faible pénétration eau/corps humain
Oui
5.8GHz
  • Antennes et dispositifs très compacts
  • Haute efficacité énergétique et spectrale
  • Très bonne portée de communication
  • Très haut taux de transmission
  • Peut être contruit en une seule puce
  • Exige des récepteurs sensibles
  • Faible pénétration eau/corps humain
Non

Tableau de Performance
DILS WiFi RFID actif à courte portée
Caractéristiques 5.8 GHz 2.4 GHz 1.2 GHz 900 MHz UHF
Canaux disponibles 8-16-32 4 4 3 Multiples
Risque d'interférence Très faible Élevé Moyen Moyen Moyen
Type de bande FM FM FM AM AM
Résolution Excellente Excellente Excellente Bonne Moyenne
Portée Longue Moyenne Moyenne Courte Courte
Performance à l'extérieur Excellente Excellente Excellente Bonne Moyenne
Précision de localisation (X,Y) Excellente Faible Faible Faible par Zone
Sécurité Excellente Bonne Bonne Moyenne Faible
Opération sans licence Oui Oui Non Oui Non
Pénétration à travers:
Eau/Corps humain Faible Faible Bonne Bonne Bonne
Bois Moyenne Moyenne Bonne Très Bonne Excellente
Béton Moyenne Moyenne Bonne Très Bonne Excellente
Vitre teintée Faible Faible Faible Faible Faible
Métal Non Non Non Non Non

PURELINK vs WI-FI >